joy.

Eclipsed.

on February 21, 2012

Ever since I started this blog, I have intended to do a post on the title of it: “Eclipsed By Joy.”

Here is the dealio.

Once upon a time, there was this guy named David Crowder.

He has a band.

They recorded a song called “How He Loves.”

I am pretty certain that everytime I hear this song, to this day!, I catch something new or “click” as far as the meaning of a certain phrase.

The specific phrase that I want to write about today is “And all of the sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory.”

I had never understood that phrase. I never thought much about it, but I just didn’t “get” it.

And one day, I suddenly GOT it.

Eclipse means covers. Affliction eclipsed by glory. God’s glory. His glory covers/blacks out/hides our afflictions!

Long story short, this phrase continues to be one of my absolute favorites in this powerful worship song. And I based the blog title off of this phrase. I want my life to be eclipsed by joy. I want any sadness or heartache to be blacked out with joy that can only come from God! I want people to look at me, my life, and see joy!

I got to worship to “How He Loves” with David Crowder live a few months ago. And it was phenomenal. I don’t know how it is possible for anyone to hear that song and not be moved by it. And not want to instantly worship God! He loves us SO much. He is jealous for us. What would our lives look like if we TRULY grasped that?

If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.

Leave a Reply

